Skip to page content
Washoe County Medical Society


The standing commissions/committees of the Washoe County Medical Society were established to offer members an opportunity to function within, as well as influence society policy on issues of interest. If you have any questions about the purpose and function of each committee, please contact the chairs by email.

Allied/Public Health

Chairman: F. Kevin Murphy, M.D.
This is commission acts as a liaison with major bureaucratic agencies that affect medicine and deals with issues that have local and statewide implications. Meets jointly with NSMA.


Governmental Affairs

Chairman: Ronald L. Smith, M.D., Ph.D.
Co-Chair: Ronald Swanger, M.D.
This commission assists and coordinates lobbying efforts with NSMA; this commission is also involved in providing experts in legislative areas. This commission meets jointly with NSMA.


Internal Affairs

Chairman: Gina Dapra, M.D.
Co-Chair: Michael F. Kos, M.D.
This commission manages the budget, finances, awards, personnel and all operational documents.

Medical Practice

Chairman: Patrick Woodard, M.D.
This commission oversees the quality of local medical practice, professional liability, quality assurance boards, industrial/self-insured, hospital regulations, insurance and medical review, and continuing medical education. This commission also acts as a liaison between various health plans and work with the relationship between physicians and hospital contracts. Meets jointly with NSMA.


Public Relations

Chairman: Bayo Curry-Winchell, M.D.
This committee promotes public awareness, the concept of physicians as patient’s advocate, media coverage liaison, speaker’s bureau, and promotes the mini-internship program.

Membership Committee

Chairman: Ali Nairizi, M.D.
The membership committee with promote new member recruitment, identify programs and services of interest to members, collaborate with public relations in planning and implementing member events.